Fandom

Elder Scrolls

Shields (Morrowind)

47,595pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Indoril Shield MW
For other uses, see Shields.

Shields are handheld pieces of armor used to block incoming blows during melee combat. They are available in a variety of materials and styles, and in all three armor classes: light, medium, and heavy.

Blocking can only be performed with a shield, and is automatic in Morrowind. Shields are limited to use in melee combat; ranged and magical attacks cannot be deflected. The chance of successfully diverting attacks is governed by the Block skill, and is also influenced by the Agility and Luck attributes.

It is possible to equip both a shield and a two-handed weapon. Although the shield cannot be used to block attacks in this case, it still provides any bonuses granted by a constant effect enchantment. This can prove to be rather beneficial, as some shields have a high capacity for enchantments. The Daedric Tower Shield surpasses all other pieces armor in the game, with a 225 enchantment value.

A shield's effectiveness as armor is correlated with armor class of the equipped item. The armor ratings listed in the tables below are the nominal values, as provided by the game's Construction Set. The actual value determined during gameplay is dependent on the corresponding armor skill (Light, Medium, or Heavy). At a skill-level of 100 the armor rating is the value listed below, multiplied by 3.333. For example, the Chitin Shield is listed at 10, but with 100 points in the Light Armor skill, its armor rating will be 10 × 3.333 = 33.33 points. The result is not rounded to the nearest whole number, and any digits following the decimal point are ignored (e.g. 44.995 becomes 44, not 45).

Armor class comparisonEdit

  Armor Class
Light Medium Heavy
Shield attributes Min. Max. Min. Max. Min. Max.
   ArmorIcon   Armor rating 5 55 15 45 10 100
   WeightIcon   Weight 4.0 9.0 10.0 13.5 14.0 45.0
   GoldIcon   Value 17 20,000 170 5,400 34 200,000
   Health-icon   Durability 100 1,000 300 900 200 2,000
   MagickaIcon   Enchantment 15 37.5 40 90 75 225

Note: The table above pertains to Morrowind and Tribunal shields. Some Bloodmoon items do not fall within these confines.

Light armorEdit

Piece ArmorIcon WeightIcon GoldIcon MagickaIcon Enchantment Item ID
Chitin Shield 10 4.0 22 25 - chitin_shield
Chitin Tower Shield 12 6.0 32 37.5 - chitin_towershield
Feather Shield 12 6.0 120 N/A Feather 20 pts for 10 sec on self feather_shield
Glass Shield 50 9.0 13,600 30 - glass_shield
Glass Tower Shield 55 9.0 20,000 35 - glass_towershield
Goblin Buckler TR 20 5.0 1,000 10 - goblin_shield
Goblin Buckler TR
(Unique)
20 5.0 1,000 N/A Drain Personality 50 pts constant on self
Drain Speed 10 pts constant on self
Restore Health 1 pt constant on self
goblin_shield_durgok_uni
Netch Leather Shield 5 6.0 17 15 - netch_leather_shield
Netch Leather Tower Shield 5 9.0 25 22.5 - netch_leather_towershield
Nordic Leather Shield 5 4.5 25 15 - nordic_leather_shield
Riekling Shield BM 12 2.0 50 8 - BM_Ice minion_Shield1
Shield of Light 5 6.0 85 N/A Light 20 pts for 15 sec on self shield_of_light
Shield of the Undaunted 15 4.0 35 N/A Restore Fatigue 10-30 pts on self shield of the undaunted
Veloth's Shield 10 4.0 85 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self veloths_shield
Veloth's Tower Shield 12 9.0 150 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self veloths_tower_shield
Velothi's Shield 10 4.0 85 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self velothis_shield
Velothian Shield 10 4.0 85 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self velothian shield
Wolf Shield BM 15 8.0 100 5 - BM wolf shield

Medium armorEdit

Piece ArmorIcon WeightIcon GoldIcon MagickaIcon Enchantment Item ID
Bear Shield BM 15 10.0 100 2 - BM bear shield
Bonemold Shield 15 10.0 170 40 - bonemold_shield
Bonemold Tower Shield 17 13.0 250 60 - bonemold_towershield
Dragonscale Tower Shield 22 12.0 230 60 - dragonscale_towershield
Dreugh Shield 40 13.5 2,550 45 - dreugh_shield
Hlaalu Guard Shield 17 13.0 250 60 - bonemold_tshield_hlaaluguard
Holy Shield 15 12.0 220 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self holy_shield
Ice Shield BM 50 13.0 1,000 40 - BM_Ice_Shield
Indoril Shield 45 13.5 2,000 45 - indoril shield
Orcish Tower Shield 32 13.4 2,000 90 - orcish_towershield
Redoran Banner Shield 17 13.0 250 60 - bonemold_tshield_hrlb
Redoran Guard Shield 17 13.0 250 60 - bonemold_tshield_redoranguard
Spirit of Indoril 45 13.5 5,400 N/A Summon Ancestral Ghost 60 sec spirit of indoril
Succour of Indoril 45 13.5 4,200 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self succour of indoril
Telvanni Guard Shield 17 13.0 250 60 - bonemold_tshield_telvanniguard
Ward of Akavir SF 25 10.0 5,000 N/A Fortify Luck 25 pts constant on self Ward of Akavir

Heavy armorEdit

Piece ArmorIcon WeightIcon GoldIcon MagickaIcon Enchantment Item ID
Ancient Steel Tower Shield BM 19 20.0 100 75 - steel_towershield_ancient
Auriel's Shield 60 30.0 17,000 100 - ebony_shield_auriel
Azura's Servant 80 45.0 30,000 N/A Drain Magicka 1-10 pts for 30 sec on touch
Frost Damage 1-15 pts on target
azura's servant
Blessed Shield 15 15.0 130 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self blessed_shield
Blessed Tower Shield 15 15.0 130 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self blessed_tower_shield
Blood Feast Shield 18 20.0 1,000 N/A Absorb Health 5-20 pts for 10 sec on touch Blood_Feast_Shield
Daedric Shield 80 45.0 34,000 150 - daedric_shield
Daedric Tower Shield 80 45.0 50,000 225 - daedric_towershield
Darksun Shield 60 30.0 17,000 N/A Drain Magicka 100 pts constant on self
Night-Eye 10 pts constant on self
Reflect 20 pts constant on self
Restore Fatigue 10 pts constant on self
darksun_shield_unique
Dwemer Battle Shield TR 20 15.0 510 50 - dwemer_shield_battle_unique
Dwemer Shield 20 15.0 510 50 - dwemer_shield
Ebony Shield 60 30.0 17,000 100 - ebony_shield
Ebony Tower Shield 60 30.0 25,000 150 - ebony_towershield
Eleidon's Ward 100 30.0 200,000 N/A Restore Health 50-100 pts on self towershield_eleidon_unique
Her Hand's Shield TR 55 17.0 2,500 N/A Fortify Block 10 pts constant on self Indoril_MH_Guard_shield
Holy Tower Shield 17 15.0 3,100 N/A Restore Health 10 pts on self holy_tower_shield
Imperial Shield 16 14.0 78 50 - imperial shield
Iron Shield 10 15.0 34 50 - iron_shield
Iron Tower Shield 12 18.0 50 75 - iron_towershield
Nordic Mail Shield BM 66 20.0 1,000 10 - BM_NordicMail_Shield
Nordic Trollbone Shield 18 16.0 78 40 - trollbone_shield
Saint's Shield 60 30.0 15,000 N/A Feather 20 pts for 10 sec on self
Restore Fatigue 1-10 pts for 20 sec on self
saint's shield
Shadow Shield 20 15.0 2,400 N/A Invisibility 20 sec on self
Restore Fatigue 5 pts for 20 sec on self
shadow_shield
Shield of Wounds 20 15.0 620 N/A Drain Health 1-10 pts on target shield of wounds
Spell Breaker 70 25.0 115,000 N/A Reflect 10-20 pts for 30 sec on self
Silence 30 ft for 30 sec on target
spell_breaker_unique
Steel Shield 15 15.0 68 50 - steel_shield
Steel Tower Shield 18 20.0 100 75 - steel_towershield

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki